Tag: fading

Already Weak, Air Travel Demand Is Fading. And Pent-Up Business Travel Demand Will Be Soft Whenever It Arrives

The global decline in air travel will be worse than previously forecast and a new report on corporations’ plans travel through 2021 shows that the recovery of business travel demand will continue be sluggish even after the anticipated approval of one or more Covid-19 vaccines in, hopefully, the first half of 2021.

The International Air Transport Association, the airline industry’s global trade group, said Tuesday that global passenger traffic this year will be down a whopping two-thirds – or 66% – from 2019. Previously IATA had forecast a traffic decline of 63%.

While the revised view is only 3 percentage points worse than IATA’s previous forecast, the

Read More

NASA-NOAA’s Suomi NPP satellite finds tropical storm Noul fading over Laos

NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite finds tropical storm Noul fading over Laos
NASA-NOAA’s Suomi NPP satellite provided forecasters with a visible image of Tropical Storm Noul over Laos on Sept. 18. It is expected to dissipate over Thailand in a day. Credit: NASA Worldview, Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS)

Tropical Storm Noul made landfall in central Vietnam on Sept. 17 and NASA-NOAA’s Suomi NPP satellite captured an image of the storm over Laos. Noul was weakening as it moves toward Thailand where it is forecast to dissipate.


The Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) reported that the system made landfall just north of Hue, Vietnam at about 0100 UTC on Sept. 18 (9 p.m. EDT on Sept. 17) and had begun to track inland.

On Sept. 18 at 3 a.m. EDT (0700 UTC/2 p.m. Vietnam local time), the VIIRS instrument aboard the Suomi NPP satellite provided a visible image of Noul as it moved into Thailand. The storm appeared shapeless

Read More

Apple: ‘Fortnite’ interest fading, Epic Games using lawsuit for hype

  • Apple has accused Epic Games of starting a legal fight between the two tech giants to generate interest in “Fortnite.”
  • In a new document submitted Tuesday, Apple said “Fortnite” had been dwindling in popularity before the lawsuit.
  • Epic Games and Apple got into the fight after Epic broke Apple’s rules about App Store payments, for which Apple automatically takes a commission as high as 30%.
  • Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

Apple attacked Epic Games in a new court filing on Tuesday, claiming the maker of “Fortnite” launched a lawsuit over in-app payments solely to generate interest in the game.

Before the lawsuit, interest in “Fortnite” was falling, Apple argued.

“For reasons having nothing to do with Epic’s claims against Apple, Fortnite’s popularity is on the wane. By July 2020, interest in Fortnite had decreased by nearly 70% as compared to October 2019. This lawsuit (and the front-page headlines

Read More